Allowed and forbidden foods in the gluten-free diet

The gluten-free diet is a diet that people who have been diagnosed with celiac disease have to respect. These people have to follow this diet for life, even if sometimes the symptoms of the disease are attenuated to disappear as manifestations. Learn from the article below which foods are allowed and which are banned in the gluten-free diet.

Celiac disease is an autoimmune condition that also has a genetic component. The disease is triggered by the ingestion of gluten – wheat, rye, and barley protein -. Doctors warn that gluten consumption in these people leads to the development of serious injuries to the small intestine.

Celiac disease has over 300 symptoms that differ from person to person and may occur at age. Sometimes, the symptoms may disappear or diminish without showing that the disease has passed. Therefore, a gluten-free diet is extremely important for these patients. It’s a diet that lasts for a whole life, not just a few months, years.

There are also specialists who claim that this diet is also indicated for people with autism, kinetic attention-deficit / hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).

The main symptoms of the disease are:

  • unexplained fatigue,
  • anemia,
  • flatulence,
  • abdominal pain,
  • mouth mouth,
  • unexplained weight loss,
  • dermatitis,
  • chronic diarrhea,
  • joint pain,
  • spontaneous abortions,
  • infertility

It’s not an easy-to-eat diet because gluten is found even in very small quantities in many foods, from ketchup to ice cream.

Products that do not contain gluten are fruits and vegetables, beef, poultry, fish, peanuts, seeds, eggs.

Even though it is a difficult diet, doctors say that removing gluten from food is the only form that can correct celiac disease and avoid complications.

Here’s what foods are allowed for patients with celiac disease:

  • Rice, corn, buckwheat, millet, soy, potatoes,
  • Butter, cream, yogurt, cheese,
  • Butter, margarine, olive oil, sunflower oil,
  • Beef, pork, poultry, fish,
  • Tea, coffee, cocoa, wine

Here’s what foods do not allow patients with celiac disease:

  • Wheat, flour, wheat, wheat germ, rye, barley, oats,
  • Milk preparations with added non-specified sources,
  • Vegetables and fruits that have cereal flour,
  • Beer, whiskey,
  • Sauces for salads, sweets, ice cream

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *